Finding Dad!!!

Standard

So lets see where are ? Mom is trying to begin a new life in the city (NYC), meets Dad and hangs out in the city with him for a few months, gets married and becomes pregnant. She leaves to go back home to have the baby and Dad stays in the city. Mom goes back to city to think of the memories and I think to see if she can find him but fails. As I later found out, Dad was actually AWOL from the Air Force. He turned himself in, served time and then got released. In the mean time I was born, dad has no idea, I live with Mom and my story continues. Mom and I go to the city always looking but never finding…

Now I am grown, my life intertwines around and into Mom’s life. I get married, have two wonderful children and my husband works as a supervisor for a trucking Co. We find ourselves on the move about every year! Mom would soon join us on our moving journeys. Mom was alone, never remarrying- oh she went on dates a few times but nothing ever amounted to any serious relationships… and so she came to live with us. My life through all of this can certainly consume a large part of another short story which someday may come to life but for now I will leave that for another time. The important thing right now is what happen in the year 1983. My husband, me, Mom and my children were living in New Windsor, NY. We lived in a townhouse were the living room, dinning room, kitchen and half bath made up the bottom floor and the upstairs consisted of 3 bedrooms and a full bath.

It all started some months before Christmas when my husband and I took a trip down to Essex, Connecticut. Only he and I knew what our mission was. Mom had no clue of my desire nor my determination to find my father, you see there was this part of me that had to put that last piece of the puzzle together. Searching for my Dad was something I needed to do. Something deep down inside of me said it didn’t matter what the out come would be any answer was a piece that would complete many answers to many questions.

It was a nice day when we pulled into town and headed to the town hall. This day would be marked in my memories forever. Little did I know that the search I though would take days, months, years to complete took only one whole afternoon! Wow, you can only imagine how surprised and overwhelmed I was that afternoon. I walked over to the reception desk and began my request for any information on my dad and his records. As I was explaining all the information this gentleman in the desk behind was listening to our plea. The receptionist was very busy and so this gentleman took over and set out to help us. Well, as it turns out the town hall was the old school so all the records were right down stairs. Arriving in the basement I began to explain and tell this gentleman everything I knew about dad and the year he graduated. Next surprise this man turns around, looks at me and says I graduated the year after your father but I have the yearbook from the year your dad graduated. He continues to say “I don’t know why I have that yearbook as I didn’t know anyone but I know right where it is” not only do I know where the yearbook is but the aunt that raised your dad is a very good friend of mine. It is lunch time so give me some time and I will call my friend and go get the yearbook too. So he left and we went out to our van and I tried to catch my breath. Here I was in a strange town asking about a man I had never met nor knew much about let alone expect to find anyone who knew him and had information. Wow… I was speechless and anxious and unable to sit still as I waited with great anticipation of what was to happen next.

Before long the gentleman came back and in his hand was the yearbook with 3 or 4 pages marked of where my father’s pictures were. He also said he had called and talked to dad’s aunt and she wanted us to come by and talk with her. So with yearbook in hand we got back in our car and headed over to some strangers home to meet the lady that raised my dad. This lady was so nice and friendly and very helpful. When we got there she had a few pictures pulled out and gave them to me. We talked for awhile and I could see she was as touched as I was to be a part of this discovery. As we drove away from town I had with me some precious treasures of my dad’s history and his telephone number. This was a day to remember and a day that reinforces the kindness of strangers. It definitely restores faith in humanity.

Back in NY, days after, I sat at the table starring at the phone. I’d pick it up, dial a number or two, put the receiver down, dial again. This went on for a long time until finally I just pulled my nerve from somewhere and let it ring. Then the ringing stopped and from the other side came a male’s voice “hello”. “Hi” I said “this is your daughter. I talked to your aunt and she gave me your phone number. I hope it is alright to call, my Mom is Stacie. Do you remember her?” and then there was silence… So I said “hello are you there?” and this voice came back and said something like “well you know, it’s hard to bring those skeletons out of the closet you know”. And then we had a nice long conversation and promised each other to stay in contact. We did just that and that following July 4th we would meet face to face for the first time!

It was now Christmas time and time for the company Christmas party. My husband and I went and had a great time. I had quite a few drinks and was feeling a bit on the brave side. Brave enough, I think, to let Mom in on the secret I had kept up until this point. She needed to know. My husband went upstairs to bed, the kids were sleeping and Mom and I were downstairs talking. She lay, stretched out on the couch, and I sat in the recliner chair just having random conversations. I finally scraped enough courage, sat back, looked at Mom and said “Mom I found Dad”. Well, she sat straight up on the couch, looked right at me and said “what?” with this expression of utter surprise. So I repeated it and began to explain all that had transpired. We stayed up late into the night as I brought back memories from deep within her past.

The next few months went on as usual and dad and I kept in contact. My husband was getting transferred to Maine so we planned a family camping trip to Maine. Dad and I made plans to meet for the first time….      (to be continued)..

2 thoughts on “Finding Dad!!!

Leave a comment